Self-Introduction Attempt #2

Blogging 101: Day 1 Assignment, Introduction

My name is Roni.  I’m a 64-year old great-grandma of one, a grandma of five, and a mama of two daughters whom I love dearly.  I happily reside with my 12-year old Maine Coon cat, Sammie.  She will be 13 next month and I’m so blessed to have had her in my life all of her life.

I have a habit of doing things the hard way and, in this case, backwards.  I started my blog with the Blogging 201 class and wondered if I might have done better or if it would have been easier had I started where most people start, with Blogging 101.  My blog site is set up and now I’m just trying to figure out if what I’ve created is working well or if I need to tweak it a little more. You can read my first introduction on the “About” page of my blog, “Writing on the Wall” at https://ithasoccurredtome.wordpress.com.

I love to write.  And I love to sleep.  Writing has been my cure for chronic insomnia.  I discovered that, instead of tossing and turning and mulling over the dozens of things intruding on my ability to sleep, writing it down settles my brain.  I keep a journal on my night stand and that’s where I get the stuff immediately out of my head.  I have so much I want to write about, none of which would make a good novel, but might make a pretty good collection of snippets and ramblings.  I don’t write poetry because I don’t understand poetry.  I write like I speak, so bear with me.

I’m feeling just a bit overwhelmed right now because I’m trying to commit to a regular posting calendar and I haven’t been able to develop the consistency I expect of myself.  I am very particular, bordering on fastidious, when it comes to my writing.  Perfectionism can be a blessing or a curse.  I believe in the concept of writing it down, letting it get cold, and revising, revising, revising.  My problem comes when I spend so much time revising that I don’t post in a timely manner.  Having completed the Blogging U. 201 class, maybe now I’ll be able to find a comfortable, productive pace.

Blogging 101 will be a different approach for me. This time I plan to have FUN and perfect my blog and finally just get down to the business of writing.

I look forward to reading the posts my co-students are writing and invite you to read mine.  I value any input and feedback I get.  I appreciate the compliments and take very seriously the critiques I receive.  My skin is becoming sufficiently thick and I can take it.  Onward!

[NOTE: This introduction was not allowed to “get cold”, so please forgive any errors you might find.  Please let me know if you find any!]

Leave a Reply

